It’s All About The Training


English: Seal of the United States Department ...

A comment was made to earlier this year, “don’t you think you are a little old to still be a cop”.  I let it roll by me but I did think about the words over the past few months.  A couple of weeks ago I had the chance to go through Active Shooter Training at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center at North Charleston, South Carolina.  The training was very intense and very physical and I was the oldest in the class.  Each night I could feel the muscle aches but each morning I was ready to start the training again.  Admittedly, I am not in the same shape as I was while serving in the United States Marine Corps but I am still willing and able to complete training that keeps me at the top of my profession, a Law Enforcement Officer.  I have always had this internal need to serve people, to defend my country and to give back for what I have received in my life.  As long as I can continue to do this I will work each day.  The training is my gauge, the way to look at what I am still able to do safely, for myself and others.  I am always up for the challenge that faces me each day and I am always aware of my limits.

 

 

Related articles

One thought on “It’s All About The Training

  1. I thank you for being one of the best – a US Marine.

Leave a comment